Thumbs up, thumbs down!

Leave a comment

November 13, 2012 by bill82terry

Photos by Jana

Well, it has been a busy weekend! This week looks like it will be packed too; we’re heading to Ohio for our grandson’s (Noah) birthday. When life gets busy, I have found that it is much easier if you have a plan!  Flying in late from work and trying to decide what to fix usually ends in fast food!

I tried some new recipes on Saturday; some were good, and some not so good. I posted links the other day to these recipes. Here’s the rundown:
Mexican rice – we liked it
Homemade Refried beans – I had cooked some dried beans earlier, so making this recipe was quick and easy.
Pumpkin muffins with a streusel topping – very good and gluten free
Pumpkin black bean soup – mixed reviews!  When eating, dollop with sour cream and sunflower seeds.  Bill liked it, I didn’t. I was surprised at the number of recipes online for this recipe. The reviews went on and on. What a bomb – in my humble opinion.
I also made up a batch of all purpose gluten free flour and gluten free pancake mix. The best mix is from Silvana. I love her book, Cooking for Isaiah!
I made enough of each recipe so we could have a meal and then froze the rest. Then, I made Bill some rice krispie treats. It was nice to have a quick treat.

Steamed veggies

Tonight, I made a quick veggie lasagna. Basically, it’s a white sauce with cheese, lasagna noodles and veggies.  I was so sure we would like it that I made enough for the freezer. Drum roll please……we loved it.  As with all lasagna recipes, I’m convinced they are even better the next day.  Flavors blend.  I was in a hurry tonight so I just grabbed a bag of cauliflower/carrots/broccoli and and steamed it.  I didn’t cut the veggies in small pieces, we really didn’t care.You can use almost any veggies you have on hand.

Quick ingredients to layer
Finished product
Holidays are coming! Be prepared! Plan ahead and make good choices.

Leave a comment

Start here